Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre

20150614-IMG_4706

During my visit to Iceland, I spent my first night at Reykjavik, the capital city of Iceland. It is a unique city, there are a lot of traditional looking shops in the city center but there is this very futuristic looking building there, its their main concert hall- Harpa.

20150614-IMG_4732

I was there during the sunset, a surprising fact for is that it is actually 11pm that time. :O As a Malaysian, its my first time experiencing sunset at midnight. The timing was great to take photographs of the building. Harpa was designed by a Danish firm Henning Larsen Architects, and they did it in co-operation with a Danish-Icelandic artist Olafur Eliasson. If I am not wrong the design won the 2013 Mies van der Rohe award.

20150614-IMG_4640

The interior of the building during the sunset was amazing, the low angle of sun-rays created beautiful shadows. I was so glad I was there at that time.

20150614-IMG_4654

Behind the Harpa, its a small harbor. The cantilever design of the building protrude outwards to have a better view of the harbor.

20150614-IMG_4754

I was lucky enough to have been there at that time, I knew I will not be able to visit this place anytime soon so I took the opportunity. Even though I was tired that time, I really enjoyed the experience. I enjoyed the architectural photoshoot. 🙂

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

