My first enlargement.

enlarge120_1_1

After I shot my first roll of 120 film, I did my first enlargement. It was taught by a course-mate of mine. 😀 I was surprise of how enlargement is done, it is basically taking a photo again, you have to chose a lens, and your ‘film’ the photographic paper. Then you need to set your aperture of the lens, size the projected image to the size of your paper and then focus the image projected. And then after you put your photographic paper into place (with the focusing light off) you then uses a timer machine that control the amount of time the enlarger will project the image on the paper. At first we will need to use test strips to find out the exposure needed for the end result you want, normally we will start with a 5 seconds projection of light, and expose our test strip in 3 different places for the period of 5 seconds,10 seconds, and 15 seconds. If you are lucky, you will get the perfect exposure that you wanted from one of the exposure, but most of the time we will need to do many more test strip until we get our desirable result. After figuring out the period of time need for my shot with numerous amount of test strip, then only we can use a full size photographic paper, and to tell you the truth, I am nervous at that time. But when I see the finished photo, I am very happy with it.

I got more than what I was expecting, maybe this is where the essence of film photography is. The texture, the annoying dust that are now permanently printed on my photos, the naturally occurred frame around the photo, and finally is to be able to see a finished product that you spent hours in the dark room to create is just awesome. But this is definitely not a easy thing to do. 😀

Leave a Reply

